In Pursuit – Erin Sheckard Blog 3

I applied to graduate on Friday. I have been talking about the concept of graduation to family for months and it hadn’t struck me until now that it’s something I’m going to be doing in a matter of months. Duquesne has been a home away from home and thinking about finally being finished, with what I hope are several accomplishments under my belt, is daunting. The finish line is in sight and some small part of me wants to turn and run in the other direction because I have no idea what comes next.

Also on Friday, I went out to support the O’Donnell Award winners at the undergrad research symposium and was impressed by the research and writing both RJ and Ethan did during their trips. Looping back to my first blog post of this semester, I don’t know if I would have gone to this event had I not been an intern for the department. I’m once again grateful for the insights and opportunities this position has afforded me.

Also throughout these last few weeks, I’ve been working closely with Dr. Fried on getting out flyers and memos for events like the colloquium and Declaration Day and Donuts, as well as starting to roll out course descriptions for upcoming Spring 2023 courses. I’m looking forward to the weeks to come, especially with registration starting and Halloween just around the corner, there’s a lot of work to be done.

Leave a comment